2013 Pueblo of Acoma and Laguna Officials - Cibola Beacon: News

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

2013 Pueblo of Acoma and Laguna Officials

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, January 4, 2013 12:00 am

ACOMA AND LAGUNA PUEBLOS – Gregg P. Shutiva has been appointed as the Governor for the Pueblo of Acoma and Richard B. Luarkie has been elected to a second two-year term as Pueblo of Laguna Governor.

Governor Shutiva will accept the governorship from Randall Vicente, who completed a one-year term. The Pueblo of Acoma is a traditional tribal government with appointments made to the Tribal Administration, Tribal Council and Fiscales (Tribal Sheriffs) positions. Total enrollment for the Pueblo is 5,106 members.

The Pueblo of Laguna is a constitutionally-based government with elections held every-two years. The first Pueblo of Laguna Constitution was enacted in 1908, which predated the enactment of State of New Mexico Constitution in 1911.

Governor Luarkie narrowly defeated Harry A. Antonio, Jr. by 84 votes, 713 to 629. Only 1,782 votes were cast in the 2012 Tribal election, according to officials. The total enrollment for the Pueblo is 8,532 members.

Pueblo of Acoma 2013 Tribal Officials include the following:

• Governor, Gregg P. Shutiva

• First Lieutenant Governor, Joe M. Aragon, Jr.

• Second Lieutenant Governor, Dennis H. Felipe, Sr.

• Tribal Secretary, Phillip Riley

• Tribal Interpreter, Curtis P. Torivio

• Fiscales: (Tribal Sheriffs) Head Fiscale Albert L. Leno, Second Fiscale Larry Chino and Third Fiscale Earl L. Louis,

• and Head Councilman, Michael S. Lewis, and Councilmen: Harold Chino, Derek C. Valdo, Ernest M. Vallo, Sr., Delbert Roughsurface, Sr., Tim Chavez, Brian Torivio, Barney Chino, Robert T. Garcia, Fred S. Vallo, Sr., Garcia Chino, and Edmond Seymour.

Pueblo of Laguna 2013 Tribal Officials include the following:

• Governor, Richard B. Luarkie,

• First Lieutenant Governor, Harry A. Antonio, Jr., and

• Second Lieutenant Kenneth J. Tiller.

• Head Fiscale, Wesley L. Fernando,

• First Fiscale, Paul D. Pino,

• Second Fiscale, Gaylord F. Siow,

• Secretary, Charles H. Poncho,

• Treasurer, David F. Martinez,

• and, Interpreter, Christopher F. Luther.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Connect with us

Follow us on Facebook